Greater Sydney Commission appointments

The NSW Government has made a series of appointments to the Greater Sydney Commission, a new planning body which will be responsible for metropolitan planning in a partnership between State and local government.

Lucy Turnbull has been appinted as Chief Commissioner and will report to the Minister for Planning. Heather Nesbitt has been appointed as Social Commissioner, Rod Simpson as the Environment Commissioner and Geoff Roberts as the Economic Commissioner. The Commission will also comprise six District Commissioners, nominated by Sydney councils to advocate their needs.

Sarah Hill has been appointed as the Chief Executive and brings a wealth of experience in urban planning and property economics.

The Commission has been designed to work in partnership with the community to better coordinate planning in Sydney. It will be charged with developing and implementing district plans, determining regionally significant development applications and will act as the decision maker on rezoning proposals currently undertaken by the Minister. For details, visit the Greater Sydney Commission web page.